IF — dangerous travel: a comentary

On the edge

On the edge

We are about to cruise to Antarctica, the only continent Alie has never visited. This last week, several friends mentioned the ship stuck in the ice, and one spoke of the extreme heat in Argentina.

They reminded me of a story my father, who passed on 60 years ago yesterday, told me:

A young man approached a nice looking gentleman in the park and asked if he would tell him the time.

“I could, but I would rather not,” said the man but not in an unfriendly way.
“Why?” said the young man.
“You seem like a nice young man.” he said. “If I tell you the time, we might engage in small talk. If we are enjoying the talk, we might sit down on a bench hear and talk some more. If we talk some more, I might discover I really like you. If I really like you, I might invite you home for dinner. If you come to dinner, you might meet my daughter. If you meet my daughter, the two of you might really hit it off. If you hit it off, you might decide to get married. I don’t want my daughter to marry a man who can’t afford a watch.

The moral of the story is clear: we are packing shorts and a parka. I also am intrigued by what a small child remembers the rest of his life.

About ralietravels

Ray and Alie (Ralie) are a retired couple who love to travel. Even during our working years, we squeezed a trip in whenever we could, often when we had to stretch the budget to do so. We have been fortunate to vacation in all 50 states, all the provinces of Canada and one territory and a little more than 50 countries. We like to drive, but we particularly love to travel back roads to find unusual sights, people, and experiences.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

I am interested in your thoughts.

