Wandering in San Juan

El Morro, built between 1539 and 1790, guards the entrance to San Juan.

It is a luxury to just wander without a destination, without a plan.  Few people care to do it.  But I wandered for about four hours in San Juan before stopping at a tourist office to get a map.  It’s in my genes; it’s in my genes to aimlessly wander; and it’s in my genes to wonder where I’ve been even if I don’t care where I’m going.

After walking outside the city wall, I cut up through a gate into El Morro’s outer courtyard and continued past the old cemetery.

 

Santa Maria Magdalena de Pazzis Cemetery in use since 1814

Then, for a long time I just walked up and down streets looking at the churches, the houses, the restaurants, the people.

I went into the Cathedral, the subject of another post.

I found myself at the top of the wall just above where I started the day.  A young photographer was there with her assistant and model.  I asked if she was shooting for an assignment — no, just to make photographs.

Click on photos to enlarge.

The streets of old San Juan:

Looking into an occasional courtyard:

Pigeon Park:

About ralietravels

Ray and Alie (Ralie) are a retired couple who love to travel. Even during our working years, we squeezed a trip in whenever we could, often when we had to stretch the budget to do so. We have been fortunate to vacation in all 50 states, all the provinces of Canada and one territory and a little more than 50 countries. We like to drive, but we particularly love to travel back roads to find unusual sights, people, and experiences.
This entry was posted in Travel Logs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wandering in San Juan

  1. Dina says:

    Lovely impressions from beautiful San Juan!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So similar in appearance to my local towns in southern Spain. And by the way, I think we share the same wandering genes! Dido’s nicknamed me her “meanderthal”. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not all who wander are lost. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice pictures! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Keith Beckman says:

    San Juan looks like a beautiful place to visit. Wish I was physically better able to see some of these places but I guess other things are in the offing. Thanks again for the beautiful history lesson. love Loraine

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There is no better way to explore an area than to wander through it, Ray, wondering what is around the next corner, always being pulled forward, peaking into places that others miss. I enjoyed your post. –Curt

    Liked by 1 person

I am interested in your thoughts.

